Father Son Relationships in The Church

Can a pastor have another pastor as a covering?

The answer is subjective. Honestly, there is not a lot in the Bible that discusses the job description of a pastor or bishop. I believe the terms are synonymous in the New Testament.

We can glean from the father son relationship between Paul and Timothy.. Let’s look at three passages:

1st Corinthians 4:15 – For though ye have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet have ye not many fathers: for in Christ Jesus I have begotten you through the gospel.

1st Timothy 1:2 Unto Timothy, my own son in the faith: Grace, mercy, and peace, from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord.

2nd Timothy 1:1 Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, according to the promise of life which is in Christ Jesus. 2 To Timothy, my dearly beloved son: Grace, mercy,and peace, from God theFather and Christ Jesus our Lord.

When you read Paul’s epistles to Timothy, you can feel Paul’s nurturing heart. Let’s look at:

1st Timothy 1:18 – This charge I commit unto thee, son Timothy, according to the prophecies which went before on thee, that thou by them mightest war a good warfare;

Paul’s nurturing heart can really be felt in:

2nd Timothy 1:3 I thank God, whom I serve from my forefathers with pure conscience, that without ceasing I have remembrance of thee in my prayers night and day; 4 Greatly desiring to see thee, being mindful of thy tears, that I may be filled with joy; 5 When I call to remembrance the unfeigned faith that is in thee, which dwelt first in thy grandmother Lois, and thy mother Eunice; and I am persuaded that in thee also. 6 Wherefore I put thee in remembrance that thou stir up the gift of God, which is in thee by the putting on of my hands. 7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 8 Be not thou therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner: but be thou partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God; 9 Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began, 10 But is now made manifest by the appearing of our Saviour Jesus Christ, who hath abolished death, and hath brought life and immortality to light through the gospel:

Paul admonishes Timothy to nature others just as he nurtured Timothy:

2nd Timothy 2:1 – Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 And the things that thou hast heard of me among many witnesses, the same commit thou to faithful men, who shall be able to teach others also.

The above referenced Scriptures were indeed succession planning.

Sure, there are unhealthy mentor/mentor relationships in the Church. Mentors acting as lords over mentees. Shun the relationships.

Younger pastors need a good and healthy mentor/mentee relationship.

Leave a Reply

