Old Testament

wpid-download-11.jpg.jpegThe Old Testament is the first section of theChristian Bible, based primarily upon theHebrew Bible, a collection of religious writings by ancient Israelites.

It is the counterpart to the New Testament, the Christian Bible’s second section. The Old Testament
canon varies between Christian Churches; Protestants accept only the books found in the canon of the Hebrew Bible, dividing them into 39 books, while theCatholic, Eastern Orthodox, and Oriental Orthodox Churches accept somewhat larger collections of writings.

The Old Testament consists of many distinct books written, compiled, and edited by various authors over a period of centuries. It is not entirely clear at what point the parameters of the Hebrew Bible, the basis for the Christian Old Testament, were fixed. Some scholars have opined that the canon of the Hebrew Bible was established already by about the 3rd century BC. The development of the various forms of the Christian Old Testament, at any rate, continued for centuries.

The books of the Old Testament can be broadly divided into several sections: 1) the first five books or Pentateuch (Torah); 2) the history books telling the history of the Israelites, from their conquest of Canaan to their defeat and exile in Babylon; 3) the poetic and “Wisdom” books dealing, in various forms, with questions of good and evil in the world; 4) and the books of the biblical prophets, warning of the consequences of turning away from God.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s